Thu. Jun 1st, 2023

The counting of the tent event of Pakistan Cricket Board – Pakistan Super League 2022 – began today with the announcement of the seventh edition of the most popular and competitive league.

After the opening ceremony, defending champions Multan Sultan will face home and 2020 champions Karachi Kings on Thursday, January 27, 2022, at the National Stadium with the first ball to be thrown at 7pm PKT.

The 2019 Quetta Gladiators will face the 2017 winners Peshawar Zalmi the next day on Friday, January 28th.

In the first of six tournaments to be played in a 32-day tournament and 34 games, Multan Sultan will face Lahore Qalandars who came second in 2020 at 2pm PKT, followed by Karachi Kings and Quetta Gladiators ’. the match will start at 7pm PKT on Saturday, January 29, 2022.

The two-time champion Islamabad will play on Sunday, January 30 where they will face Peshawar Zalmi, an evening match between rivals Karachi Kings and Lahore Qalandars.

After Karachi, which will host 15 matches from January 27 to February 7, will move to Gaddafi Stadium where 15 league games and four play-offs will be played from February 10-27.

The February 27 final will be the first time since 2017 when the Pakistani cricket headquarters will host the final.

The National Stadium played the final from 2018 to 2020, while Abu Dhabi was the 2021 finalist where the Sultans defeated Zalmi by 47 runs.

The PCB has designed the 2022 tournament in such a way that each side will play an equal number of games in Karachi and Lahore, as well as games under natural and artificial lighting.

PSL Draft 2022

PCB has decided that the 2022 PSL Framework will be held at the High-Performance Center in Lahore on Sunday, December 12, with the event starting at 3 p.m.

Each side will come to a standstill with the retention of eight players in the final event. Following the completion of the player stages, the transfer window has been officially opened and will close on December 10.

In the Platinum category, Lahore Qalandars will be nominated first, followed by Multan Sultan, Karachi Kings, Islamabad United, Peshawar Zalmi, and Quetta Gladiators. Lahore Qalandars will be the first choice in the Diamond category, followed by Peshawar Zalmi, Islamabad United, Quetta Gladiators, Karachi Kings and Multan Sultan.

Lahore Qalandars will have first choice in the Gold Category, Peshawar Zalmi will have first in the Silver Category, Lahore Qalandars will have first in the Emerging Category and Quetta Gladiators will have first in the Supplementary Category.

Local players’ category renewals

The PCB, following a review and assessment process, has updated local players’ categories.

In the biggest moves, Pakistan wicketkeeper/batter and Multan Sultan’s captain Mohammad Rizwan (previously Silver), Asif Ali of Islamabad United (previously Gold) and Lahore Qalandars’ Haris Rauf (previously Diamond) have been placed in Platinum Category.

Multan Sultans’ Sohaib Maqsood, who was Player of PSL 6, and Haider Ali of Peshawar Zalmi have moved up from Silver and Gold Categories to Diamond Category, respectively.


Matches from January 27 to February 7 to be played at the National Stadium, Karachi; matches from Feb 10-27 to be played at the Gaddafi Stadium)

27 Jan – Karachi Kings vs Multan Sultans

28 Jan – Quetta Gladiators vs Peshawar Zalmi

29 Jan – Multan Sultans vs Lahore Qalandars; Karachi Kings vs Quetta Gladiators

30 Jan – Peshawar Zalmi vs Islamabad United; Karachi Kings vs Lahore Qalandars

31 Jan – Quetta Gladiators vs Multan Sultans

1 Feb – Islamabad United vs Multan Sultans

2 Feb – Peshawar Zalmi vs Lahore Qalandars

3 Feb – Quetta Gladiators vs Islamabad United

4 Feb – Karachi Kings vs Peshawar Zalmi

5 Feb – Islamabad United vs Lahore Qalandars; Peshawar Zalmi vs Multan Sultans

6 Feb – Karachi Kings vs Islamabad United

7 Feb – Quetta Gladiators vs Lahore Qalandars

10 Feb – Multan Sultans vs Peshawar Zalmi

11 Feb – Lahore Qalandars vs Multan Sultans

12 Feb – Islamabad United vs Quetta Gladiators

13 Feb – Peshawar Zalmi vs Karachi Kings; Lahore Qalandars vs Quetta Gladiators

14 Feb – Islamabad United vs Karachi Kings

15 Feb – Peshawar Zalmi vs Quetta Gladiators

16 Feb – Multan Sultans vs Karachi Kings

17 Feb – Islamabad United vs Peshawar Zalmi

18 Feb – Multan Sultans vs Quetta Gladiators; Lahore Qalandars vs Karachi Kings

19 Feb – Lahore Qalandars vs Islamabad United

20 Feb – Quetta Gladiators vs Karachi Kings; Multan Sultans vs Islamabad United

21 Feb – Lahore Qalandars vs Peshawar Zalmi

23 Feb – Qualifier (1 vs 2)

24 Feb – Eliminator 1 (3 vs 4)

25 Feb – Eliminator 2 (Loser Qualifier 1 vs Winner Eliminator 1)

27 Feb – (Qualifier v Eliminator 2) Final

Match timings

Friday’s double-headers – 3pm & 8pm

Other than Friday’s double-headers – 2pm & 7pm

All single-headers – 7pm

Source link

One thought on “PSL 7: PCB Announces Tournament Schedule of Pakistan Super League 2022”
  1. […] Also Read:- PSL 7: PCB Announces Tournament Schedule of Pakistan Super League 2022 […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *